By Admin - October 15, 2017 5:15 pm 0 506 0
We've all sent emails on the spur of the moment that we've regretted. Certain email programs offer an option to recall or retract an email, but that doesn't necessarily mean the recipient won't still receive it. Gmail's Undo Send feature works differently in that it actually waits to send your email, giving you a certain amount of time to change your mind and prevent it from being sent. But you have to be quick, as Gmail gives you only a specific number of seconds to halt your email.
The Undo Send feature is now an official part of Gmail, no longer relegated to mere beta status in Gmail Labs.
How to Setup
- All you have to do is – Log-in to your Gmail account by providing the correct login credentials. If you have not created the Gmail account yet then register for the new account.
- Now, Open the "Settings" which is positioned at the right-most top corner of the Gmail account dashboard as shown below.
- From the Settings window, make sure the General tab is selected.
- Next, you will find an option named "Undo Send" – Click on the radio button to "Enable Undo Send" also adjust the time as per your requirement (10 – 30 Secs)
- Undo Send can be activated only within the time limit, which we have selected as per our requirement.
- Finally "Save" the settings – So, you activated the "Undo send email". Hereafter, we look into using it.
How it works
- First of all, Compose an email to your friend and click on "Send".
- Then, Gmail will notify you with a message "Your message has been sent. Undo View message" on the top of the dashboard.
- If the message is wrong, then you can click on "Undo" from the above notify message. This will Undo the email and you can make changes to send it again or you can discard the email.
This is one of the cool features which helps a lot of people in professional email communications. The Undo Send feature is a handy way to ensure that the wrong email doesn't get sent to the wrong person.